Go Incognito and Browse in Private

By Stephanie Smith  |  Created June 29, 2018  |  PC |  Internet |  Other | 

/blog/2018/06/feature-image-go-incognito.jpg

Did you know that you don’t have to leave a record of the website that you are visiting? And that you can browse any website you want without worrying about your browsing history afterwards? In order to do that you will have to activate Incognito Mode, sometimes also known as Private Mode. The main idea behind using this mode is for example if you’ve downloaded something that you don’t want the next person who uses the browser to see.

To understand why it is better to use private browsing, first let’s hop into understating of how incognito mode actually works. When a user opens a browser window in private or incognito mode, the browser stops storing all the various stuff it usually does. This means website addresses that you visited, text you may have typed into the site’s forms, and saved usernames and passwords. And of course the browser logs sites you’ve visited into your “history” log, along with the date and time of the visit. However, while incognito mode can hide your searches from your close ones, it can’t really help you hide from the police and their subpoenas or your employer. But for personal day-to-day purposes the incognito mode is really valuable.

There are various reasons for someone to use Incognito mode, from visiting adult websites, using lame Google searches, watching weird videos, signing into multiple email accounts at once, hiding to your search history from someone close to you for whichever reason and many others.

Mozilla's Private Window

Every browser has Incognito Mode option, different name for it can be “Private Window”, PCs and Android ones as well. Once you activate it, a new window will appear declaring “You’ve gone incognito”. A status message, as well as a brief explanation. You might also notice that the graphics are different usually shade darker. To exit Incognito Mode, simply click the X in the upper right corner of each tab or window that you opened.

Happy Browsing!